Supabase Auth and Plasmic

Hi,

I’m new to Plasmic and I have to say I’m really really impressed. There’s only one thing I’m finding way too difficult which is the Supabase integration. I understood choosing Plasmic over other low code builders would mean dealing with more technical things, although I think something as widely used as Supabase should be more easily integrated in Plasmic.

Anyways, after researching the Auth part of Plasmic-Supabase integration I have a few questions about the loader example with NextJS that would love some confirmation on before deciding to continue with Plasmic Auth or Supabase Auth (which I’d love but don’t want to deal with extra technical details diminishing development speed)(plasmic/examples/supabase-auth-nextjs-pages-loader at master · plasmicapp/plasmic · GitHub):

1. Apart from setting up the project… Would I need to “sync” anything afterwards?
  2. Once I do the final clone and start editing in Plasmic, can I use all the Roles/Permissions/User features available in Plasmic as if I were using Plasmic Auth?
  3. Does this add any extra step to the deployment of the app or can I use the one click button to have my app live through Plasmic hosting?

If you someday achieve a full integration with Supabase with just a few clicks without abandoning your platform, etc, you’re gonna have a killer product.
I do understand all of this is complex technically, but it’s the only part of the product I see lacking (problem is, it’s a very important part of an app).

But you’ve truly truly built something impressive. Congrats and thank you!

Hi @jacobo_garcia thanks for the great feedback

Here are the answer for your questions:

1. If you are using the loader API version, you won’t need to perform any syncs afterwards, this is one of the benefits of using loader, if you are using codegen than you need to incrementally sync the changes of your project into your repository. I recommend reading Headless API vs. Codegen | Learn Plasmic