Updating multiple supabase tables on form submission to set many to many relationships

Hello, I am pretty new to Plasmic and creating an exercise database. I am trying to figure out how to update multiple tables in one form submission. In Supabase, I have an exercise table, and a tag table which have a many to many relationship in a junction table exercise_tags. For example, bench press could have the tags: “upper body” ,“chest”, and “triceps” assigned to it (so 3 new entries in the exercise_tags table.

I am trying to create a form to not only create a new exercise, but also assign it tags. Then upon submission, I want a new exercise to be added to the exercise table and a new row added for each of the tags in the exercise_tags junction table. Any help is greatly appreciated!

I havent come across a video or docs explaining how this would be setup but perhaps I am just missing something?

Hi @brian_minor, welcome to the Plasmic forum!

You should be able to add multiple steps in a single form submission. Check out Introduction to interactions and state | Learn Plasmic.

1 Like

Thanks, I had figured out how to use multiple steps, but the issue I am running into is trying to create multiple rows in the Exercise_Tags table for each of the tags values that is selected in a multi-select component (so the number of entries will be dynamic depending on user input). I just can’t figure out how to structure the SQL write query to create more than one row based on each ID thats selected. I am essentially trying to create a row for each value in the array for the select element.

Hey @brian_minor,

What method are you using to write to Supabase?

If you are using the HTTP API, you can send Supabase an array of rows for bulk creation. Something like:

#### INSERTING A SINGLE ROW
curl -X POST 'https://cqyieutggvpyimdmqsam.supabase.co/rest/v1/exercise' \
-H "apikey: SUPABASE_KEY" \
-H "Authorization: Bearer SUPABASE_KEY" \
-H "Content-Type: application/json" \