Web designer looking for a HTML/CSS design tool to replace Figma

Hello, my name is Mattan and I’m a web/product designer who is passionate about finding an HTML/CSS design tool to replace Figma. Plasmic comes closest to what I am looking for so far, but still is a bit too clunky for basic exploration design and simple HTML/CSS creation. Hoping future iteration has a mode or version that is just a basic HTML/CSS layout tool since that would solve 99% of my problems with dev handoff.

as a ux engineer, im curious to hear what your issues are with dev handoff

Well my issues are primarily with existing tools like Figma which don’t use HTML/CSS for layout and styling and therefore are incredibly difficult to properly hand-off to developers who often themselves don’t know HTML/CSS very well

Plasmic seems like a step in the right direction since it is built on actual HTML/CSS rendering, but seems aimed more at straight-to-production design work rather than the exploratory design work I can do in Figma.

The teams I have worked with (And now working with one dev on a personal project) don’t want to have the codebase sync with Plasmic and manage all the logistics around that. They just want to see clean HTML and CSS from the design tool that they can then convert into the JSX or Vue templates or whatever a project is using.

In Plasmic there is no simple HTML/CSS code view for a given component or object I have designed, and many of the basic layout tools add a lot of extraneous code cruft like extra unnecessary wrapping divs and odd approaches to things like flex gaps that make it all feel far messier than something I could write by hand that I feel would translate just fine in a design tool

So I’m stuck in this awkward place where I am completely HTML/CSS fluent yet don’t have a design tool that lets me express that fluency in a nice WYSIWYG design GUI